The Original Music of Garry Faegenburg

Home Welcome Page Archives Favorites The F.D.C. Interests Comments Recipes Movie Reviews The Original Music of Garry Faegenburg Garry's Computer Utilities for IBM i From The Desk Of Garry Faegenburg Photo Album Special Features Favorite Pictures


I am reminded of a very famous line by Clint Eastwood in one of the Dirty Harry movies (I believe it is in "Magnum Force" just as he is
about to blow Hal Holbrook to smithereens) where he utters:  "A man has got to know his limitations."

What does that have to do with "The Original Music of Garry Faegenburg"?

Well, for me, quite possibly the hardest decision I have EVER made was to not pursue my dream of spending my life as a working
Electric Bassist.  Even though I did work for about 5 years (if you could call it work!).

First off, I was NOT a real musician.  I couldn't sight read.  Second, I didn't know music theory and how to draw upon it for soloing
which is so important in Jazz music.  Each time I listen back on this handful of tunes that I wrote back in the late 1970's, it is quite
evident to me that they simply can't compete in the Fusion Jazz arena.  When you have artists like Chick Corea, Dave Weckl,
Jaco Pastorius, etc., that is a pretty tough crowd to go up against even if you are a complete musician.

So having to make the decision to become an ordinary man of the corporate business workforce was a huge heartbreak.  I still feel
today if I had applied myself to music in the same way that I have applied myself throughout my career in computers, well who knows
what might have happened.

But even with all of that going on in my head, it does NOT make me any less proud of these few tunes that Ron Reinhardt, his brother Dave
and their dad Ron Sr. and I put together back in those days in 1978.  Ron has gone on to be a very successful keyboardist in the
Smooth Jazz arena and is a REAL musician who I am proud to call a friend of mine.  He has recorded much music with Richard Elliot

Look up some of the names on Richard's albums, like "City Speak".  You will see on that one:  ALL songs writtten by Richard Elliot,
Ron Reinhardt and Dave Reinhardt.  And I had the ultimate honor of playing music with both Ron and Dave.  I mean how AWESOME
is that????

And so I present to you, the ONLY recordings of these songs that were ever done.  The band consisted of:

  Garry Faegenburg - Electric Bass & Guitar (Allegro Moderato) & Keyboards (Intro:  Summer in Peking)


   Ron Reinhardt - Keyboards


   Dave Reinhardt - Drums


   Ron Reinhardt Sr. - Saxophone


  1. Untitled- Simply known as: "Garry's Tune"
  2. Untitled - Simply known as: "Ron's Tune (1)"
  3. Allegro Moderato
  4. I Guess I Should Have Known
  5. Untitled - Simply known as:  "Ron's Tune (2)"
  6. Intro:  Summer in Peking
  7. Summer In Peking
  8. Untitled - Simply known as:  "Garry's Tune - Director's Cut"
  9. Portrait of Tracy (written by Jaco Pastorius)
  10. Amerika (written by Jaco Pastorius)



This page was last edited: 07/08/2014 10:24:06 PM